Districts and towns – from large to small

One and a half decades after the abolishment of the Soviet administrative system, Estonia today consists of 15 counties (maakond), which are divided into smaller rural municipalities (vald).


In Pärnumaa: on the horizon Pärnu, the county town.

The bigger towns are Tallinn, Tartu, Narva, Pärnu and Kohtla-Järve.  Haapsalu, Viljandi, Võru, Rakvere, Kuressaare and some more are smaller, but also of interest.


All in all there are approx. 50 settlements, which have the status of a town. Comparable to the “Bundesländer” in Germany the counties have a certain degree of territorial sovereignty.


At the same time the different administrative units make everyday transactions much easier in Estonia. Area and postal codes and phone directories hint at the idea of federalism in this Baltic country.



   - Next topic: Map of Estonia