Additional information

Population:         approx. 1.35 million
Area:                  45.227 km²
Density:             30 inhabitants/km²
Capital:              Tallinn (formerly Reval)
Official language: Estonian
Currency:            Eesti kroon
Car number plate: EST
Administrative districts: 15
     Largest cities:    
- Tallinn         400.000
- Tartu         100.000
- Narva         67.000
- Kohtla-Järve         46.000
- Pärnu         44.000

Estonians, who make up for 75% of the population are the largest ethnic group. Approx. 20% of the inhabitants are of Russian descend. The other ethnic groups are Ukrainians (2%), Byelorussians (1.2%) and Finns (0.8%).  

Traditionally the predominant religion in Estonia has always been Christianity. But around 70% of the Estonians today are of no particular faith. 14% of the population are of Evangelical Lutheran confession, followed by the Orthodox (12.5%). Roman Catholics, Muslims and Jews form confessional minorities in the country.

Public holidays
Estonia celebrates the following public holidays: January 1 (New Year’s Day), February 24 (Independence Day), Good Friday, May 1 (May Day), June 23 (Victory Day), June 24 (Saint John’s Day/Jaanipäev), August 20 (Regaining of Independence Day), December 25 and 26 (Christmas), December 31 (New Year’s Eve).
Usually, Estonians have their summer holidays between June 1 and September 1.  The academic (school) year is divided into four terms and usually starts on September 1. School holidays are in November, at Christmas and in spring.

Time zone
-    local time in Estonia = Central European Time (CET) + 1 hour
-    summer and winter time apply in Estonia = difference to CET stays the same throughout the whole year