Overview of Tallinn’s administrative districts

Kesklinn: Covers almost the whole central area of Tallinn. This includes the Old Town (Vanalinn), which is surrounded by city walls, Toompea, the neighbouring port (Reisisadam), the palace in the east and the newer areas of the city. It is the tourist and administrative centre of Estonia.


Kristiine: Residential area located in the south west of the Old Town, built in the 1920s/30s. Mostly apartment or private houses. Because of its central location, it is considered a very popular place to live.


Põhja-Tallinn: District next to Toompea in the north of the city. It reaches from the main station to Paljassaare peninsula. Especially the central area around the station is interesting from an architectural point of view. There are also many industrial areas,  the railway and Tallinn’s docks.


Haabersti: Important recreation area in the west of the city. Includes a zoo, Lake Harku, Rocca al Mare (open-air museum) and the beach of Kakumäe. It is a family- friendly residential area with hardly any industry around.


Mustamäe: A district in the south west of Tallinn. Standardized housing area built during the Soviet period in the 1960s/70s. Living space for more than 60,000 people on approx. eight square kilometres. Not very noteworthy for tourists.


Lanamäe: High-density residential area situated in the east next to the airport. Uninviting soviet concrete style. Living space for almost 100,000 people most of whom are Russian immigrants. A lot of industrial waste land.


Pirita: Situated on the estuary mouth of the River Pirita in the north east of Tallinn. It is an exclusive and a very popular residential area, providing lots of leisure activities due to beaches, woodlands, the marina and numerous sports facilities. Tallinn television tower and the ruins of the monastery Pirita Klooster are special landmarks of this district.



   - Next topic: Tallinn sightseeing